Acts of Kindness

During rush hour, I balanced uncertainly on two crutches at the top of the escalators leading down into Liverpool Street station. Although I had previously cursed their slow speed, the escalators now seemed to move at breakneck pace, leading me to wonder how I would ever get onto them without tripping and falling. A city worker came up to me to offer help, taking my elbow and guiding me onto the step. “Are you going to be ok to get off at the bottom?” he asked. Not wanting to be more of a burden and knowing he probably just wanted to get straight on his train, I said no and he carried on down the stairs. When I reached the bottom he was there waiting “It’s been raining. I was worried, and didn’t want you to slip” he explained as he helped me hop off the stairs. What a gentleman.

Acts of Kindness

Leave a Reply

