Hobbies are apt to run away with us, you know; it doesn’t do to be run away with. We must keep the reins.

I have a lazy-girl’s habit of starting things I have no intention of finishing, or starting things and then going “Ooh look! Shiny!” and finding something new to fixate on. Please see, for example, the stream of previous blog attempts I leave behind in my wake. Will wordpress be the one for me, or do I need to give up and accept the fact that – at 32 years old – I will never be a blogger and should stick to old-fashioned slate for making my mark.

So, with this in mind, I looked around at the pile of half-cut-out patterns, tails of yarn, and scatterend pins that makes up my attempts at craftery, and realised that I needed something to motivate me to finish all these projects. And as I don’t have Ryan Gosling to massage my hands and keep me going, I would have to try internet shaming. Even if no-one reads this blog, the permanence of the world-wide-web means that if I don’t get stuff done, my legacy of unfinished projects will be what I’m known for, in a series of 0s and 1s.

And here’s my current to-do list. Some are further along than others, some are just an idea and a bit of vintage fabric that I picked up. But – as the craft-gods are my witness – I will get these done.

1. Cross-stitch thistle bookmark for my mum (Planned as a holiday present from a highlands road trip. Which I came back from two weeks ago)

2. Cross-stitch flower from Mollie Makes

3. Tie for boyfriend – from a free Collette Pattern

4. Brioche-stitch scarf

5. Cable-knit throw for new home

6. Picnic blanket skirt

7. Tshirt part of pyjama pattern

8. Pyjama shorts

9. Vest using vintage floral material from The Shop (aka my happy place)

10. Mittens. Lots of mittens. Demanded as Christmas presents from all my friends.

11. Collette dress

12. Pencil skirt

13. Baby booties for a friend due in February

Unlucky thirteen, eh?

Today’s quote is from George Eliot.

One response

Leave a Reply

