Whenever a boy comes, you should always have something baking.

Well, I do love a list. So I thought I’d do another one. This time, it’s less a to-do list (don’t need more pressure, thanks!), more just a list of things I want to try out in the kitchen. This was sparked by my trip to Paris this weekend (pictures to follow…), where at every corner I was met with a delicious display of macarons, and reminded that I’ve been wanting to try making these for a long time. That, and the return of Great British Bake-Off, of course.

I love baking, and I’m ok at it, but I’m pretty slapdash about the measuring, and the following of instructions, and I think many of these things on my list require a level of exactitude/concentration that doesn’t sit well with me.

– Macarons

– Marshmallows

– Cake pops (I know, I know, I’m totally behind the curve on this one. In about three years time, I’ll be talking about how delicious those Cronuts look)

– Italian frosting

– Char siu buns (My other half grew up in Hong Kong, and these are his favourite snack. I’ve mastered char siu pork, and never thought the buns were something people in their kitchens at home could realistically do – surely there’s some kind of magic involved? – but this Jamie Oliver recipe looks so simple, I think I need to give it a try)

– Salted caramels

– Rainbow layer cake

– Mojito cupcakes (Or any booze-related cupcakes. I’m not fussy)

– This chocolate strawberry nutella cake (Difficulty-level isn’t the reason I’ve waited for this one -my other half sent it to me back in June and I promised it would be the first thing I baked in our new house. Not long to wait now!)

No doubt, I will post any resulting successes/disasters here!

Today’s quote is from Cher (Clueless, not Turn Back Time)

Leave a Reply

