If you are lucky enough to have lived in Paris as a young man, then wherever you go for the rest of your life, it stays with you, for Paris is a moveable feast.

About 10 years ago (man, I’m old), I lived in Paris for 10 months as an Erasmus year during my degree. And I fell in love. What a city. I go back as often as time and money allow, and this weekend I went back for a quick one night trip with two of my closest friends. We spent a wonderful two days wandering the streets (still beguiling despite the – at times – torrential rain), eating the delicious food and drinking the wine. But the less said about the wine the better.

??????????

This was our first view of the Eiffel Tower. Told you it was raining.

One night really isn’t enough – even if you’ve already been to Paris several times, and most of the time I was there I was already planning what I would do on my next visit.

Messing about by the river.

These are just a few of the photos I took during my visit, hope you enjoy!

??????????

Not sure where this was taken. We just turned the corner, and there it was, like it had been set up just for a photo.

One of the highlights was when we stumbled across a market by the Seine to advertise the South West of France to holiday-going Parisians. We sampled a lot of fine produce, and were even rewarded with a bag of fresh garlic and apples – which of course we couldn’t say no to. And I can now say it’s some of the finest garlic I have ever tasted. English supermarkets just don’t compare.

DSCN1804

Les bouqinistes!

DSCN1792

Lovers’ padlocks.

DSCN1783

Autumnal flowers in the garden by Notre Dame.

??????????

Despite only having two days in the city, we saw a lot of cafes – including this one when we rested our tired legs in the Centre Pompidou.

DSCN1761

Eyeing up the treats.

So I hope it’s not too long before I go back. There’s so much more to see – two days is only enough to make me want more. Paris, je t’aime.

Today’s quote is from Ernest Hemingway’s A Moveable Feast

Leave a Reply

