From the manner in which a woman draws her thread at every stitch of her needlework, any other woman can surmise her thoughts.

Oh this blogging lark is just too hard to do when you don’t have wifi. We are still having all sorts of problems with it, although we currently have it working just about, but only when we have the landline off the hook. Not ideal.

Anyway, I thought it was about time I told you about some of the things I’ve been making. After having a looooong break from sewing (mainly due to being mid-project and then suddenly deciding I hated what I was making, but then feeling too guilty to start anything else – and then having not one but two disastrous attempts at PJ shorts), I’ve had a fairly productive time of it recently. Especially during the world cup when I am no longer drawn into what’s being shown on the telly. I’ll endeavour to update you chronologically over the next few posts, and you can judge for yourselves whether my sewing skills have improved at all.

First off was this one, from my to-do list. It’s the tunic top from the first Great British Sewing Bee book, and it’s made using some vintage flowery satin-y fabric from The Shop on Cheshire Street. Beautiful fabric, not so beautiful make. Based on my measurements, I sewed up a size 14. But look how big and roomy it is! This is not how it looked in the book. And I think there was something screwy going on in the instructions for adding the interfacing and turning it all inside out. I followed the instructions to the letter (at least I think I did) but it just didn’t work. Could there be a step missing? Anyway, I ended up having to machine sew my slip-stitched shoulders as it just didn’t stay together, so now there’s a weird bulk that shouldn’t be there. And the fabric, although beautiful, doesn’t half like to fray so there’s threads coming out all over the place.

20140525_150358

Colour. Colour everywhere.

That said, I actually have worn this quite a few times – it’s good for holidays and sunny days when you want something bright that gives you room to have as many gelato lunches as you wish.

I think next time I’m going to a) sew a size smaller and b) scout around the internet for some better instructions for the interfacing. I’m determined to try this one again, as it’s the kind of top I’d wear all the time (if a better fit) and I love an exposed zipper.

Today’s quote is from Honore de Balzac

Leave a Reply

