If you look for perfection, you’ll never be content.

After the shorts, came the dress. There was no stopping me now. After seeing so many fantastic versions of this online, I decided that my first dress would be the Anna dress from By Hand London. There’s not much I can add to the plethora of things that have already been said about this dress, other than to say that I love it. And I especially love the compliments I get when I’m wearing the dress. And the look on people’s faces when I say that I made it! Delightful.

photo (17)

Lookin’ awkward…

I used a purple cotton lawn from (you guessed it) John Lewis for this – it was on sale, and as I’d used this exact fabric before (for a Collette Sorbetto top), I knew what I was getting. I was so nervous about making a dress, I didn’t want to make any mistakes using a fabric that I was in love with, so thought this would make a good first attempt. Safety first.

If in doubt, ham it up.

If in doubt, ham it up.

Turns out, I love this dress as it is. I think it could do with a brooch or something to liven it up (perhaps a noughties-revival corsage, Carrie-style?), but it’s a nice simple dress, which is perfect for this summer weather we’re finally having. I made this up in a size 14, as the measurements completely matched mine, and it fits just perfectly. And no mistakes in this one too – not even in the invisible zipper, which is actually invisible for once! The instructions on the pattern were so easy to follow and, without meaning to sound too corny, it does feel like you have a friend sitting next to you telling you what to do next. I can’t wait to make this dress again, once I’ve found the perfect fabric (anyone fancy a trip to Walthamstow?), and I’m looking forward to making something else from these guys.

photo (19)

Today’s quote is from Anna Karenina, by Leo Tolstoy.

 

2 responses

Leave a Reply

