Mistakes are always forgivable, if one has the courage to admit them.‏

Well, I tried.

DSCN2705

Erm. Yum?

Given how sewing heavy this blog has been lately (and there’s still more to come – just waiting for Hurricane Bertha to chill out a bit so I can go and get some photos), I thought I would mix it up a little by throwing some baking in the mix.

DSCN2706

It totally looks like this cake has been thrown somewhere alright. Ain’t no need to try and get this in focus, it won’t help any.

And to welcome the return of Great British Bake-Off to our screens, I thought that I should take this as my cue – and will theme my baking accordingly. For example, this week (the first week back), the contestants were asked to make their own take on the classic swiss roll.

DSCN2704

This is a swiss roll. Honest.

As this was my first attempt at a swiss roll, or anything like it (I know, right, you wouldn’t have been able to tell from the photos. Professional.), I went straight to the source. The Mother Ship. AKA Mary Berry herself. Or at least, her recipe on the BBC website for a chocolate roulade (it’s not cake if it’s not chocolate).

mary berry

This is how I imagine Ms Berry herself would react if she saw what I’d done to her creation.

The recipe itself is straightforward, although very different to the cake I’m used to. It uses 6 eggs – separated and whisked) , no other fat and no flour. Just sugar, melted chocolate and cocoa powder. And you still get a magnificent rise.The filling is simply whipped cream which you spread on the cooled cake before rolling it up/smashing it to smithereens.

I think this may have been my problem when it come to rolling it up, actually – the cake rose so well and therefore was so thick it really just didn’t roll very tight. Or maybe it still needed to cool down a little. Or maybe I needed to be a bit more forceful in the rolling. Who knows. One thing I do know is that you need to spread the cake all the way to the sides, otherwise you end up with two end slices with no filling.

Whatever it is that made it look like it came off the wrong end of one a Hulk Smash, it still tastes delicious, so I certainly can’t blame the recipe!

DSCN2702

Proof that someone found it tasty.

I could have pretended this never happened and not put it on the blog, but to be honest, I laughed so hard about the end result that I had to share it wide. Also because I had been so smug in the rolling process, imagining the beautiful photogenic outcome – only to instead end up with this…

DSCN2708

It didn’t even deserve a proper plate.

So, although this wasn’t a complete disaster (as it is completely delicious – I feel like I need to keep repeating this in order to retain a semblance of dignity), it’s certainly not one of my finest moments. What’s been your biggest disaster in the kitchen?

Today’s quote is from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bruce_Lee. I bet he could roll a fine roulade in his time.

Leave a Reply

