A bear, however hard he tries, gets tubby without exercise.

I am getting so behind on my sewing updates, and have decided just to go out of order until I can get all the photos taken and uploaded.

I found this project whilst looking for free sewing patterns (always a northerner at heart!) – it’s the City Gym shorts by PurlBee. I wanted to try it as it looked like it might be a quick sew, and one that I’ll get a lot of use out of. Also, I still have a fair amount of Liberty Lawn left over from the camisole I made a little while back, and I thought it would go perfectly with some chambray I’d picked up from John Lewis.

The pattern comes in a several different sizes, based on hip measurements. I sewed up the 41-43in ones, but I think I could do with going a size down. I didn’t want to risk shorts splitting mid-lunge though, so I played it safe (and baggy) with the sizes.

20140831_090844

Not looking my best. But avoid the just-got-out-of-bed-and-into-sports-clothes look, and focus on the shorts.

Don’t think it matters though – they look fine, and the bigger size means lots of room for squats (unfortunately).

They were really straightforward to make – the instructions were clear and suitable for beginners, and a satisfyingly quick make. I started them off on Friday night accompanied by a glass of red wine and the Paris Sewing Room Spotify playlist from Workplace Social (check it out, it really is the perfect soundtrack for a sewing session), but had a friend coming to stay that evening so had to finish them off the next morning. I actually finished them off the next morning just minutes before I left to go to my kettlebells class but I was too chicken to give them the first run in front of others in case of splittage or a falling down incident… I guess I need a few more makes before I completely trust my sewing skills!

20140831_090706

Grrgh. Arrrgh. And other weights-related noises.

Thought I’d share a couple of action shots of them – proof that they are being used for their intended purpose! This is at the local outdoor gym which is just round the corner from our flat. It’s a great spot for the local community to use, really well kept and has a few different machines for keeping in shape. You can find your local one here.

20140831_090656

I am woman. Hear me roar.

Today’s quote is from Winnie-the-Pooh, by A.A. Milne.em>

Leave a Reply

